Which kind of care?

Home care, home health, assisted living, memory care or hospice: which does your parent need?

Short answer

Home care is non-medical help at home, usually paid privately. Home health is skilled medical care at home ordered by a doctor, usually covered by Medicare for people who qualify. Assisted living is a licensed community with 24-hour staff, mostly private pay. Memory care is assisted living for dementia. Hospice is comfort care for a terminal illness, usually covered by Medicare.

Side by side

TypeWhat it isWho it's forWho usually paysTypical cost
Home careA caregiver comes to the home to help with bathing, dressing, meals, errands, companionship and supervision for memory loss. It is non-medical.Someone who is safe at home but needs hands-on help or company, from a few hours a week up to 24/7.Mostly families, out of pocket. Also long-term care insurance, VA Aid and Attendance, and Medicaid waiver programs for people who qualify. Medicare doesn't pay for it when it's the only care needed.$35 an hour (U.S. median)
Home healthSkilled medical care at home ordered by a doctor: nurses and physical, occupational or speech therapists, often after a hospital stay. Visits are short and part-time.Someone who is homebound and needs skilled care for a while.Medicare, for people who qualify. You pay nothing for covered home health services. Medicaid and private insurance also cover it.Usually $0 with Medicare if you qualify.
Assisted livingAn apartment in a licensed community with meals, activities and help with daily tasks, with staff on site around the clock.Someone who can't safely live alone but doesn't need nursing-home care.Mostly private pay. Medicare doesn't pay for it. In Texas, the STAR+PLUS Medicaid waiver can pay for assisted living services for people who qualify.$6,200 a month (U.S. median)
Memory careAssisted living with a secured setting and staff trained in Alzheimer's and other dementias. In Texas, memory care is assisted living that holds a state Alzheimer's certification.Someone with dementia who wanders, gets confused about time and place, or needs supervision all day.Mostly private pay, plus long-term care insurance. Medicaid waivers may help in some states.$6,200 a month (U.S. median) for assisted living; memory care not reported
Independent livingSenior apartments or communities with amenities and social life. Care is not included.An active older adult who wants community and no home upkeep.Private pay.Cost not reported by CareScout. Ask each community.
HospiceComfort care for a terminal illness, usually at home, with a team that includes nurses, aides, social workers and chaplains.Someone whose doctor certifies a life expectancy of 6 months or less and who chooses comfort care over treatment to cure.Medicare Part A, for people who qualify. You pay nothing for hospice care from a Medicare-approved provider (small copays may apply for drugs and respite care).Usually $0 with Medicare if you qualify.

Costs: CareScout Cost of Care Survey 2025. Coverage: Medicare.gov long-term care, home health, hospice.

Costs where you live

Home care runs about $35 an hour nationally costs

Assisted living runs about $6,200 a month nationally costs

Not sure? Take the one-minute quiz

Common questions

What is the difference between home care and home health?

Home care is non-medical help with daily activities, usually paid privately. Home health is skilled medical care ordered by a doctor, usually covered by Medicare for people who are homebound and qualify.

Does Medicare pay for assisted living or home care?

No. Medicare doesn't pay for long-term or custodial care, including non-medical home care and assisted living. It covers home health and hospice for people who qualify.

Quick facts: Which kind of senior care does your parent need? A side-by-side comparison of who each is for, who pays and what it costs, plus a one-minute quiz.